About Us

Champaign County Crime Stoppers has been serving our community for nearly 40 years! The program remains very effective and has had another successful year of fighting crime. The Crime Stoppers Board credits the program's continued success to the public. The Crime Stoppers program began in May of 1986 and has assisted local law enforcement agencies in solving more than 2,248 cases and led to the recovery of more than $2.25 Million dollars of recovered property and narcotics.. Learn more on our statistics page.

The Crime Stoppers program was designed to reduce the amount of crime and the number of unsolved crimes in Champaign County. The community is the key to the success of Crime Stoppers and the program would not exist without the help of concerned citizens and the local media. According to Deputy Chief Geoff Coon (Champaign Police Department), "The Board of Directors is pleased with the ongoing support from the citizens and the media outlets who have shown a strong commitment to solving crime in Champaign County."

Crime Stoppers would like to remind the community that cash rewards are paid for information on unsolved crimes, pending crimes, and fugitives. Crime Stoppers pays cash rewards for tips that lead to an arrest. Tipsters remain completely anonymous when providing information to Crime Stoppers, whether by our TIPS phone line or P3 mobile app.

For further information, see our Contact Us page.

Mission Statement

Crime Stoppers is comprised of diverse, active and dedicated community representatives. Crime Stoppers provides a method for local law enforcement to receive information on crimes. These efforts increase tips, which in turn increase arrests in our community. |

Key Board Members

John Hecker      President
Dawn Coyne Trimble      Vice President
Jeff Hamilton      Secretary
Tyler Kutz      Treasurer
Gary Spear      Board Member
Deputy Chief Geoff Coon      Coordinator/Law Enforcement Liason

Champaign County Crime Stoppers Board of Directors
Angie Brix - Keller Williams Realty
Stephen Bryan - University of Illinois
Dale Dye - Retired - Busey Wealth Management
Kris Fitzpatrick - Retired - Law Enforcement
Steve Gray - Carmack Car Capital
Jennifer Gunji-Ballsrud - UI Japan House
Mike Hagan - BPC

Jeff Hamilton - City of Champaign
Jim Hampton - Tatman's Towing
John Hecker - Stipes Publishing Company
Josh Henson - Adams Outdoor Advertising
John Kelley - 
St. John's Catholic Newman Center
David Krchak - Thomas Mamer, LLP
Tyler Kutz - Martin Hood Friese and Associates
Leon Lomax - Retired - Kraft Foods

Janet Maupin - Retired - Champaign Fire Department
Lane Nicolette - First Federal Savings Bank of Champaign-Urbana

Barbara Payne - Retired - American Red Cross
Chris Randles - Parkland College
Debbie Schaudt - Retired - Carle/Champaign Police Dept. (civilian)

Gary Spear - Retired - Champaign Police Department (civilian)
Greg Stock - Unit 4 Schools

Grant Thompson - Champaign Multimedia Group/WDWS/WHMS/WKIO 
Dawn Coyne Trimble - Keller-Williams Realty

Non-Voting Members:
Deputy Chief Geoff Coon - Law Enforcement Coordinator-Champaign Police Department

Troy Daniels - Retired - Champaign Police Department